Tags

, , , ,

Wowza! I just finished The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo, by Stieg Larsson, and wow was this a crazy book! I heard the book was a good read so I put it on my list of books to look for. My first “Me” Day after Little Guy arrived, I want bargain shopping for books, which as you know is my favorite thing to do. I came across The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo and the second book, The Girl Who Played With Fire for $0.75 each! I was already reading a book, so I gave them to my mom to read. She finished the first two books in record time and could not wait to get the third book, so she ordered it on amazon instead of waiting to find it at Goodwill. She told me the first book was hard to get into, but to keep reading because it gets so much more interesting. Well I finally got to start The Girl… a couple of weeks ago and finished it this morning!

Let me first start by saying, I did not expect what happened in this book, to happen. I don’t want to give anything away, but it was a huge shock and once I got into it, I could not put this book down. I guess I assumed this book would mostly be about the girl since that is the title of this book, but there are so many characters in this book. I had a hard time remembering who’s who and the financial aspect was confusing to me as well, but I know little about finance. When Stieg Larsson finally brings Lisbeth into the story, you want to keep reading because you want to know more about this very mysterious character. I found myself rooting for this awkward girl, and agreeing with the way she decides to punish the man who commits wrong-doings against her. I was, however, disappointed in the ending. I thought it was short and abrupt after the entire book had been so detailed and full of twists and turns. I have to assume he wrote the ending this way because there are two more books, but I thought he could have done a better job of convincing you that you NEED to read the next book. I will still read the next books because my mom says they are even better than the first, but I have decided to take a break from reading now to finish a few crochet projects I’ve had going for months now. As for the movie, The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo, I am not sure if I am going to watch it. My friend said she couldn’t finish the movie because it was too crazy for her, and as for me, I was ok reading certain parts, but having to see it might give me nightmares. What can I say, I am a wimp. All in all, if you have not read this book, I think you should check it out! I will have to get back to you on the next books in this trilogy soon. Thanks for stopping by, and let me know what you thought about the book too! :)

