Tags

, , , ,

the Garden Boxes

the Garden Boxes

A full year has gone by since we first put our garden boxes in, and boy have they changed! Our herbs lasted over the cold winter, as well as a few of our flowering plants. We were also surprised to see our cilantro came back this year. When we planted the cilantro last year, it burned in the sun right away and died. I never took the plants out because they wilted and other plants grew around them. Now the cilantro has spread all over the place and flowers like crazy. Our lily also bloomed this year which it did not do last year although we checked that we had it planted in time for it to bloom. We did remove a few things and added a few other plants. We will probably end up changing the boxes again at the end of the year to try growing new plants, but we are pleased with what we do have this year.

In the box to the left we have: the lily, chives, two kinds of aloe(only one is pictured, but my neighbor gave me some after I took the picture), a cherry tomato plant, basil, parsley, and rosemary. In the box to the right we have: spearmint, peppermint, chives, lavender, cilantro, and a three flowering plants that I cannot remember their names. The three flowering plants have grown tremendously this year and one is especially taking over. I did buy a citronella plant, but that will stay in a separate pot since it has almost doubled in size in the last few weeks.

I plan on saving my herbs by drying them and using them in our meals, but I have to learn how to do that first. I also would love to grow garlic or large onions next year. For now my Garden Boxes bring me great joy with my flowers blooming and all our butterfly visitors. If you have and tips or comments for me, feel free to give your advice. Thank you for checking out my plants!

