Tags

, , , ,

Umbrella shop

Image via Wikipedia

Pay It Forward is a simple concept. Do something nice for someone just because you can and maybe they will do something nice for someone else in return. I was only thinking of this woman and her little girl when I helped her yesterday, but after I did it I thought how nice it would be if she returned the favor and kept it going. Husband, Baby and I went to HEB yesterday to pick up a few things for dinner and of course when we decided to leave it started to storm. Luckily I had two small umbrellas in the car so I shoved them in my purse and we went shopping. When we came out of the store it was raining even harder, but of course Husband thinks umbrellas are for sissy’s so he just ran to the car in the rain. Well I did not want to get Baby wet so while I was opening one of the umbrellas, I noticed a mom trying to cover her little girl so she would not get wet in the rain. My husband was already half way to the car, so got my other umbrella and asked if the woman would like it for her daughter. She asked where I parked so she could give it back to me, but I told her not to worry about it. It was an act so small, I didn’t have to think twice about it. The umbrella was given to me because it was not used and I had just taken it out that day for the first time after having it for years, and umbrellas are a dime a dozen so I didn’t have to think twice about giving it up for that little girl to stay dry. An act so small made me feel pretty good because had the roles been reversed, I would have been just as grateful to that woman so my baby would be out of the rain. When I got in the car, I started thinking, although it was just an umbrella maybe she will do something nice for a stranger and that person will as well. Neil Pasricha said it best, “Stranger to Stranger Love“.

Have you done something nice for someone lately? :)

