Tags

, , , , , , , ,

This weekend, we are having our annual Beach Family Reunion. Every year, some time during the summer, everyone on my mom’s side of the family gets together and we hit the beach to get our tan on. This is the first time Baby will be going to the beach so we are very interested (and a little frightened) to see how things will go. Now that I am a mom, I want to be prepared for any boo-boo’s that may occur while we are outdoors, so I decided to make my own first aid kit.

homemade first aid kit

Included in my kit:

  • Kit (a pencil box)
  • Wet wipes – antibacterial
  • small bottle of Hydrogen Peroxide
  • small bottle of hand sanitizer
  • a travel pack of tissues
  • 1 – feminine pad
  • 1 – tampon
  • a lighter
  • tweezers
  • nail clippers
  • 1 – safety pin (for splinters)
  • nail file
  • ChapStick
  • 1 – hair elastic band
  • assorted sizes of Band-Aids
  • Clear Eyes – eye drops
  • Stomach relief – chewable tablets
  • Allergy relief – tablets
  • small bottle of Ibuprofen
  • small bottle of Acetaminophen
  • Antibiotic cream + Pain relief
  • Aveeno Calamine Anti-Itch cream
  • a few cotton balls
  • a few cotton swabs

This is not a professional kit in any way, just things I have needed in the past when caught in a bind. I decided not to include a few certain things like gloves or bandage wraps. If someone is bleeding to death, I will not be worried about putting gloves on, but if they are worried about germs at the time then I will clean my hands with sanitizer. Gloves would just take up space in my box. Also, we do not plan on going anywhere too far from a hospital so if someone absolutely needs something wrapped, than we should probably head to a hospital/doctor anyway. As far as baby supplies, this kit is really just meant for adults, all baby supplies will be kept in her bag so do not worry because I’ve got baby covered. I was not able to fit a cold compress in the kit, but if anybody gets burned tomorrow, we will just have to use ice from the cooler. If you can think of anything else I might need, please let me know! Thanks for reading! :)

