Tags

, , , ,

First I will start by saying, Happy 2011 to you! I hope you had a happy holiday season. I enjoyed myself for the most part, except for the shopping. Now since we have started a new year, of course like everyone else, I would like to improve myself by making some New Years resolutions. I might add more to the list since I am making them up now as I type, but this is what I have come up with so far:

(not in any particular order)

  1. Improve marriage
  2. Take pictures (and print them) of baby everyday
  3. Be a better friend/family member
  4. Get in shape
  5. Finish house projects
  6. Save money
  7. Go to California
  8. Keep up with journal and blog
  9. Make yard (front and back) pretty
  10. Read more/spend less time watching tv

I figured I would start with 10 and see what happens. Most of these are not huge issues, but things that need a little tweaking. My husband and I have been fighting like cats and dogs, so on New Years Eve we made an agreement to work on our flaws and be better spouses. Just this morning I had to remember our agreement because we had a little tiff last night. I asked my husband to make his lunch for work, to save money which he has been wasting on Subway and Burger King, because I was too tired to do it for him. He said I told him I would make it and now he was too tired to make it also. So we went to bed not so happy at each other. I know, dumb. Anyway, so when I got up with the baby this morning, I decided to make his lunch because I said I would help him try to save some money and if I made his lunch he would not have to buy fast food. I went back to bed grumpy, after making his lunch at 5:30 am, so when he came in the room to kiss me goodbye I acted like a grump so he would know I was mad. Then after he left I realized I had been childish and texted him that I was sorry and to have a good day. Tada! I can act like a grown up! I know it is a silly argument to have but I felt like he should make his own lunch if he really wanted to save money and he felt like I should make it since he works full-time and I’m a stay-at-home mom. So long story short, too late haha, we have to work on the little things. These little problems lead to big problems. Once we were mad at each other, we were biting each others heads off for any little thing that came up. When we decided to start the new year fresh, we were happy just because we accepted each others flaws and promised the other to work on them. I have kept up my end of the bargain for the past 3 days, so we will see if he can keep his side up too. If he does, we will be able to save money to pay off some debt and take a trip to Cali in the spring. His family is from California and his grandparents have not met their first great-grandchild so we want to do that this year as well.

I would also like to be a better friend/family member. I feel like I should call my friends and family more just to check up and see how they are doing since I don’t go out all that much since we had baby. I have to remember that phones work both ways so I don’t have grandparents that think I’m too busy for them. Also, my husband and I are coming up on our three-year anniversary of buying our house. We started improving our house the day we moved in and still have many projects that are unfinished around here. I would like to complete those so we can enjoy our hard work for a few years before we buy a bigger house. The yard sort of goes along with the house, but it really needs a lot of work. We ripped out these terrible bushes in the front yard and since then the flower beds have just been weeds. We also have a large backyard with nothing but a dog house and picnic table in it. Boring! We want plants and grass without weeds! Probably the hardest thing on my list is to get in shape. I just had a baby and I would like to look good in a bikini again. I was one of those pregnant women who loved showing off my big belly in a bikini. I didn’t have to worry about being in shape then, you could tell I was pregnant so I was very happy to be in a bathing suit. I want to be in good shape to run around with my baby and be healthy. Now that I’m not pregnant, round shape is just not working for me.

I might come up with a few more things that I want to improve, but I think these will start me off and keep me busy for a while. Wish me luck! Now, what are YOU going to do with your new year?!?

