Tags

, , , , ,

Fogg Dam Conservation Reserve which is one of ...

Image via Wikipedia

I was searching for pictures for my blog when I found this great blog called http://1000awesomethings.com/. This blog is all about the simple things in life that are so great. You should definitely check it out, especially to remind you of all the little things you should be thankful for, no matter how trivial they might seem.

I was in search of pictures of Rain. Here in Texas, specifically Houston where I live, we are in need of some serious rain. Everybody loves to snuggle during a storm, when there is lightning and thunder and the rain is just beating down on your roof. We miss the rain! Usually when you watch the weather report and they tell you “there is only a 20% chance of rain today”, you don’t bother with an umbrella because there is only a 20% chance, but lately we are dancing on tables for a 20% chance that our yards will receive rain. I went back to my 1st grade vocabulary one day when we got 20 minutes of rain at my house. My mom called me to ask if we had gotten any rain and i said, “nah-nanny-boo-boo i got rain and you didn’t!”. Really, I mean REALLY? I’m sure my mom had an equally juvenile response due to her being green-with-envy my getting rain. We miss the rain badly! If this drought keeps up, we are all going to start praying for hurricanes.

So, as I was saying, I was in search of pictures of rain, when I came across:

#937 The smell of rain on a hot sidewalk – http://1000awesomethings.com/2008/09/17/938-the-smell-of-rain-on-a-hot-sidewalk/. You know what it smells like, and you have to agree the smell of rain on a hot sidewalk IS awesome! There is nothing like that clean-rain-heat smell, and with not getting any rain for weeks, I am craving that smell. So everyone get together, do a little stretching, and practice your chants because we need some serious rain dancing!